# SUPPORTIVE LAWMAKERS AND ORGANIZATIONS, 2005-2020 The Go For Broke U.S. Commemorative Postage Stamp

This is a condensed list, as of February 20, 2021. For additional details go to www.StampOurStory.org.

# 91 Members of Congress and 3 Governors since 2009

Alaska: Rep. Don Young (R-At Large). Sens. Lisa Murkowski (R) and Dan Sullivan (R).

American Samoa: Rep. Eni Faleomavaega (D-American Samoa)

Arizona: Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-Tuscon).

**California:** Reps. Joe Baca (D-Los Angeles), Karen Bass (D-Los Angeles), Xavier Becerra (D-Los Angeles), Howard Berman (D-Burbank), Julia Brownley (D-Oak Park), Ken Calvert (R-Corona), Lois Capps (D-San Luis Obispo), Judy Chu (D-Monterey Park), Paul Cook (R-Yucca Valley), Susan Davis (D-San Diego), Mark DeSaulnier (D-Concord), Anna Eshoo (D-Atherton), Sam Farr (D-Carmel), Bob Filner (D-San Diego), *Mike Honda (D-San Jose)*, Doug LaMalfa (R-Richvale), Barbara Lee (D-Oakland), Ted Lieu (D-Torrance), Zoe Lofgren (D-San Jose), Alan Lowenthal (D-Long Beach), Doris Matsui (D-Sacramento), George Miller (D-Contra Costa), Grace Napolitano (D-Norwalk), Ed Perlmutter (D-Golden), Scott Peters (D-La Jolla), Dana Rohrabacher (R-Huntington Beach), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Los Angeles), Ed Royce (R-Fullerton), Linda Sanchez (D-Los Angeles), Loretta Sanchez (D-Anaheim), Adam Schiff (D-Burbank), Hilda Solis (D-Baldwin Park), Jackie Speier (D-Hillsborough), Pete Stark (D-Alameda), Eric Swalwell (D-Dublin), Mark Takano (D-Riverside), Mimi Walters (R-Irvine), Lynn Woolsey (D-Marin). Sens. Barbara Boxer (D) and Dianne Feinstein (D). <u>Gov. Jerry Brown (D)</u>.

Colorado: Rep. Mark Udall (D-Lafayette)

Connecticut: Rep. John Larson (D-East Hartford)

Florida: Reps. Alcee Hastings (D-Weston) and John Rutherford (R-Jacksonville).

Guam: Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-Guam)

**Hawaii:** Reps. Tulsi Gabbard (D-Honolulu), Mark Takai (D-Honolulu). Neil Abercrombie (D=Honolulu). Sens. Mazie Hirono (D) and Brian Schatz (D). <u>Gov. David Ige (D)</u>.

Idaho: Rep. Mike Simpson (R). Sens. Mike Crapo (R) and James E. Risch (R).

Illinois: Rep. Mike Quigley (D-Chicago).

Maryland: Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-Kensington)

Minnesota: Rep. Betty McCollum (D-St. Paul)

Nevada: Rep. Dina Titus (D-Las Vegas)

**New York:** Reps. Gary Ackerman (D-Queens), Joe Crowley (D-Brooklyn), Maurice Hinchey (D-Utica), Carolyn Maloney (D-Bronx), Gregory Meeks (D-Queens), Charles Rangel (D-Manhattan), Nydia Velazquez (D-Brooklyn).

**Oregon:** Rep. Greg Walden (R-Hood River) and David Wu (D-Beaverton). Sens. Jeff Merkley (D) and Ron Wyden (D).

Pennsylvania: Rep. Joe Sestak (D-South Whitehall Township)

Rhode Island: Rep. Patrick Kennedy (D-Providence)

Texas: Rep. Al Green (D-Houston)

**Utah:** Reps. Rob Bishop (R-Brigham City), Chris Stewart (R-Farmington), Jason Chaffetz (R-Alpine), and Mia Love (R-Saratoga S). Sens. Orrin Hatch (R) and Mike Lee (R). <u>Gov. Gary Herbert (R).</u> Atty. General Sean Reyes.

Virginia: Rep. Bobby Scott (D-Newport News)

Washington: Reps. Denny Heck (D-Olympia), Derek Kilmer (D-Tacoma), Jim McDermott (D-Seattle), Adam Smith (D-Bellevue).

Wisconsin: Rep. Gwen S. Moore (D-Milwaukee)

Wyoming: Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R-At Large). Sens. Mike Enzi (R) and John Barrasso (R).

**Other Officials:** Former Secretary Norman Mineta, Consulate Generals of Japan Mr. Jun Yamada and Hiroto Hirakobo, Former L.A. Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, L.A. County Board of Supervisors.

### **State Resolutions**

<u>Arizona, January 29, 2007, SCR1010.</u> Led by Sen. Johnson with Sens. Aguirre, Gray L., Hale, Landrum Taylor, Miranda, O'Halleran, Rios P., Saradnik, Tom, Aboud. Cosponsor Sens. Blendu, Burton Cahill, Cheuvront, Flake, Harper, Huppenthal, Soltero, Verschoor. Rep. S. Laughter.

Hawaii Senate, January 23, 2008, SCR1. Led by Sens. Ihara, Chun, Oakland, Espero, Fukunaga, Gabbard, Hanabusa, Hee, Sakamoto, Tokuda, Taniguchi

California, February 13, 2008, AJR 33. Led by Rep. Mike Eng et al. (complete list pending)

Illinois, April 9, 2008, HR0850. Led by Reps. Howard, Black, Froehlich, Franks, Boland, Nekritz, Harris, and McAuliffe.

Washington, January 12, 2009, SJM 8000. Led by Sens. Hobbs, Kauffman, Swecker, Roach, Kastama, Marr, Kilmer, and Kline.

Hawaii, March 12, 2009, HR 26. Led by Reps. Mizuno, Brower, Ito, Karamatsu, Marumoto.

**<u>Oregon, May 20, 2009, HJM 8.</u>** Led by State Rep. Clem, with Reps. Bailey, Barker, Barnhart, Beyer, Booone, Buckley, Cannon, Cowan, Dembrow, D. Edwards, Garrett, Gilliam, Harker, Kahl, Komp, Kotek, Krieger, Matthews, Read, Riley, Roblan, Schaufler, Shields, J. Smith, Stiegler, Tomei, Witt, Sen. Devlin.

<u>Utah, February 10, 2017, SCR007.</u> Chief Sponsor Sen. Jani Iwamoto. House Sponsor Dean Sanpei. Cosponsors Adams, Bramble, Buxton, Dabakis, Davis, Dayton, Escamilla, Filmore, Harper, Hemmert, Henderson, Hillyard, Hinkins, Ipson, Mayne, Millner, Okerfund, Shiozawa, Stevenson, Thatcher, Tassell, Vickers.

### Community Support (2005-2020)

Individuals and organizations helped both informally and formally, through petition signature gathering, sharing about the campaign, getting lawmakers to help, and through letters of support.

#### Japanese American Veterans Association

National Japanese American Citizens League (JACL): Ventura JACL, Watsonville-Santa Cruz JACL, and many JACL Local Chapters

Go For Broke National Education Center, Sons and Daughters of the 442nd,100th Club, 100th/442nd Veterans Assn, 442nd Club, 1399th Club, Hawaii Army Museum, Hawaii Nisei Project, 36th Infantry Division Assn. Hawaii Plantation Village, Maui AJA Veterans, MIS Club of SoCal, MIS Veterans Club, Oahu AJA Veterans Council, VFW Posts, including Kazuo Masuda VFW Memorial Post 3670 and Hanford VFW Nisei Liberty Post 5869; Friends and Family of Nisei Veterans; Military Officers Association.

Simon Wiesenthal Center - Museum of Tolerance, American Jewish Committee, Organization of Chinese Americans (OCA), Heart Mountain Wyoming Foundation, Friends of Minidoka, Historic Wintersburg, Japanese American Bar Association, Project Kokoro, Topaz Museum, Manzanar Committee, Okinawa Association of America, Hawaii United Okinawa Association, National Military and Veterans Alliance, National Association for Uniformed Services.

Nisei Veterans Network, Japanese American National Museum, Nisei Veterans Legacy, 100th Infantry Battalion Education Center, Japan America Society, Japanese American Cultural and Community Center, Japanese American Historical Society, Japanese American Military Collective, Japanese American Museum of San Jose, Japanese Cultural Center of Hawaii, Nisei Veterans Memorial Center, Japanese American Memorial Pilglrimages, Poston Preservation, World War II Japanese American Internment Museum (Jerome- Rohwer), Amache Preservation Society, National Japanese American Memorial Foundation, Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies.

Citizens and Officials in France (Mainly from Bruyeres, Biffontaine, and Belvedere)